help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

2021 Making Democracy Work Award Nominations

 | Published on 4/6/2021

The League of Women Voters of the South Bend Area is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Making Democracy Work Award.


Submit your nomination by June 5 using this form:

The award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to our community through the advancement of democracy and civic engagement. It is open to all persons at least 16 years of age living in St. Joseph County or Marshall County.

Past recipients of the Making Democracy Work Award are Jack Colwell (2013), Richard Pfeil (2014), The Honorable Michael G. Gotsch (2015), Diana Hess (2016), Tony Flora (2017), Nanci Flores (2018), Oletha Jones (2019), and Cheryl Ashe (2020).

The award is presented at the League's annual Friend-Raiser in the fall.

Nominees may apply themselves or be nominated by a friend or colleague. All nominations must be received by midnight on Saturday, June 5.