Making Democracy Work

Because Democracy is not a Spectator Sport

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging the informed and active participation of citizens in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.
Coming Up ... Jan 10, Consensus Meeting; Jan 13, Lunch with the League; January 16, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration; January 17, New Member Discussion.

LWV Indiana Education Study - January 10 at 6:00pm

Polito's, 401 N. Hickory
Please RSVP to join us for the concurrence discussion on January 10. RSVP requested

Thanks to members Anne Montgomery and Aladean DeRose for their work on the study, who have worked on the study and will moderate our consensus discussion.

Related: LWV Indiana reports: SB 35 is very important, since it changes the language regarding the use of standardized testing scores for teacher evaluation. Current law says such scores are required to be used; the change would say they "may be" used, which means the decision to use them for teacher evaluation purposes would rest with the school corporations. This is a major shift back to local control.

More information and study materials

Contact Your Legislators - Quick Reference

Quick reference for contacting your legislators. More great information in the Citizen's Guide, which will be updated soon.

Indiana General Assembly

Indiana General Assembly Portal

South Bend Area Legislators - 2017 Committee Assignments and Email Addresses

Indiana Senate Members: 800-382-9467

Indiana House Members: 800-382-9841

United States Congress

United States Congress

Videos (with transcripts) about federal legislative process

United States Senate

United States House of Representatives

Senator Joe Donnelly
Washington, DC Office: 202-224-4814
South Bend Office: 574-288-2780
Email and Other:

Senator Todd Young
Washington, DC Office: 202-224-5623

Representative Jackie Walorski
Washington, DC Office: 202-225-3915
Mishawaka Office: 574-204-2645
Email and Other:

A Step Closer to Redistricting Reform in Indiana

At its final meeting on October 17, 2016, the Special Interim Study Committee on Redistricting passed a recommendation by a vote of 8 to 3 for the establishment of an Independent Redistricting Commission. While the final recommendation is not everything hoped for, it is a strong beginning and sets the stage for legislation in the 2017 General Assembly.

You will find more information, including a PDF copy of the Interim Study Committee on Redistricting's Final Report and a copy of the resolution adopted by the South Bend Common Council in support of redistricting reform here

Check back for information on next steps . . . coming soon.

Reform Recommendations of Indiana Coalition for Independent Redistricting

Indiana Coalition for Independent Redistricting Makes Its Recommendations

On September 19, the Indiana Coalition for Independent Redistricting, of which the LWVIN is a co-founding member, presented its recommendations to the Special Interim Study Committee on Redistricting. Key recommendations include:

  • Indiana should establish a citizen-led redistricting commission every 10 years consisting of 9 members: 3 Republican, 3 Democrat, and 3 unaffiliated.
  • All Hoosiers are eligible, but must apply for service.
  • Qualified candidates should be selected by lottery with efforts made to reflect the racial, ethnic, gender and geographic diversity of the state.
  • Redistricting criteria: Districts must be substantially equal in population, contiguous,comply with the U.S. Voting Rights Act, when possible they should not divide communities of interest, and the home addresses of incumbent elected officials should not be considered.
  • Recommendations by the commission should require an affirmative vote of at least 6 members and are subject to legislative approval.
  • Legislative changes, however, can not exceed 2% of the total population of a district and must be accompanied by a narrative explanation.

For more information on Redistricting Reform, visit LWV Indiana

Half-Price Student Membership

Join the League! LWV South Bend Area now offers a student membership rate of $25.00! A student is defined as an individual who is enrolled either full or part-time in an accredited institution.

Consider a gift student membership - you will be opening the door to lifetime of Making Democracy Work.

Did you know . . . The LWV South Bend Area

★ Visits area high schools to register voters - 1077 in 2012!
★ Registers new voters at schools and local events
★ Sponsors candidate debates and forums before every election
★ Organized and cosponsored B Green to Save Green, an environmental education program for low-income families
★ Hosts Lunch with the League, a monthly public event featuring a talk by local leaders, followed by discussion
★ Provides voter information at the community events such as the Martin Luther King, Jr. Day celebration and Michiana Monologues
★ Sponsors public forums on topics of community interest such as the Property Tax Cap Constitutional Amendment, Redistricting, and Economic Development in our area

Want to learn more? Contact us at today.

Meetings are held on the first Wednesday of each month at 5:30 pm at St Joseph County Public Library, Main Street, Downtown South Bend. Free Parking. Guests are welcome.